The government appoints 8 opposition parliamentarians for possible disciplinary measures; counter-motion not considered so far – Demerara Waves Online News – Guyana


Updated on Monday, January 24, 2022, 3:31 p.m. by Denis Chabrol

Chief Opposition Whip Christopher Jones holds up a laptop to show Speaker of the House Manzoor Nadir that the motion was sent on the correct letterhead.

Governance and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Gail Teixeira on Monday secured House Speaker Manzoor Nadir’s approval to fire eight opposition parliamentarians A Partnership for National Unity + Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) to a committee to deal with possible disciplinary measures.

“Be it resolved that this National Assembly express its unwavering horror at such egregious disorderly conduct, contempt and breaches of privilege that took place on December 29, 2021,” she said in the motion.

For its part, UNPA+AFC had hoped to consider a motion for 21 government parliamentarians to be referred to the Privileges Committee, but Mr. Nadir said the motion appeared on a press release header from the head of opposition Joseph Harmon.

After hearing Ms. Teixeira list the charges against opposition lawmakers, Mr. Nadir referred the matter to the Privileges Committee. She wants the case to be dealt with within a month because of the “seriousness of these violations”.

The Minister for Governance and Parliamentary Affairs has appointed Christopher Jones, Ganesh Mahipaul, Sherod Duncan, Natasha Singh-Lewis, Annette Ferguson, Vinceroy Jordan, Tabitha Sarabo-Halley and Maureen Philadelphia. “UNPA+AFC members have conducted themselves in a grossly disorderly, contemptuous and disrespectful manner and, in particular, have repeatedly ignored, disrespected and disregarded the authority of the Assembly and that of the President, thereby committing outrages and breaches of privilege.

Ms. Teixeira singled out Ms. Ferguson and Mr. Jordon for removing the mace from the dais. “Whereas the Honorable Members of Parliament Annette Ferguson and Vinceroy Jordan have further committed breaches of privilege by forcefully, without authority and in a disorderly manner removing the mace from its rightful position and attempting to remove it from the House, thereby creating a serious disorder and chaos which caused injury to a staff member of the Bureau of Parliament and damage to the mace,” she said.

The Minister further charged Ms Sarabo-Halley with committing contempt and breaches of privilege by entering without authorization the communications control room of the Arthur Chung Control Center, part of the House, and “destroying several audiovisual equipment, being public property”. , with the intention of disrupting the sound and internet connection in order to prevent the Assembly from carrying out its lawful activities. »

The Speaker of the House said the motion of no confidence against him “would go through the usual procedures”, but the other which sought to send the 21 government lawmakers was received on the header of the press release of the leader of the opposition. He said the motion was reintroduced a little over an hour before Monday’s sitting began. “As such, I have not had the opportunity to consider the issues raised and I want to assure the Honorable Mr Jones that this will be done quickly and that we will deal with his motion,” Mr. Nadir.

The Chief Opposition Whip, holding a laptop screen with possibly evidence, said two emails sent Sunday evening were not on the Leader of the Opposition’s letterhead, but the President of the Chamber told him to clarify this with the staff of the National Assembly.


About Author

Comments are closed.